USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center

An NCI-designated Comprehensive Cancer Center

External Advisory Board

The External Advisory Board (EAB) serves a critical role in helping USC Norris regularly evaluate its progress and achieve continuous improvement.  EAB members include prominent investigators from other cancer centers who represent diverse research disciplines, Center Directors, and administrative leaders.  The EAB meets annually to assess USC Norris’s strategic priorities, scientific initiatives, organization and leadership, and progress in its programs, shared resources, community outreach and engagement, education and training, administration, and developmental funds. The EAB prepares a written report, subsequently reviewed and acted upon by USC Norris leadership with progress updates at subsequent meetings.

Eric Fearon, MD, PhD (EAB CHAIR)

Emanuel N. Maisel Professor of Oncology

Director, University of Michigan Rogel Cancer Center

Professor, Departments of Internal Medicine, Human Genetics and Pathology

Melissa L. Bondy, PhD

Chair and Professor, Epidemiology and
Population Health; Stanford Medicine Discovery
Professor; Associate Director, Population
Sciences | Stanford Cancer Institute; Co-Director,
Center for Population Health Sciences

William E. Carson, III, MD

Professor of Surgery and Vice Chair for Promotion and Tenure
The John B. and Jane T. McCoy Chair in Cancer Research
Associate Director for Clinical Research
OSU Comprehensive Cancer Center
The Ohio State University

Edward Chu, MD, MMS

Director, Albert Einstein Cancer Center
Vice President of Cancer Medicine, Montefiore Medicine
Roger and Carole Einiger Professor of Cancer Medicine
Albert Einstein College of Medicine

Justin E. Bekelman, MD

Professor, Departments of Radiation Oncology,
Medicine, and Medical Ethics and Health Policy
Director, Penn Center for Cancer Care Innovation
Abramson Cancer Center
University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of

Robert Croyle, PhD

Former Director, NCI Division of Cancer Control and Population Sciences

Eileen Dolan, PhD

Professor, Department of Medicine –
Section of Hematology/Oncology
Chair, Committee on Clinical Pharmacology and Pharmacogenomics
Associate Director for Education, UCCCC
University of Chicago

Olivera (Olja) Finn, PhD

Distinguished Professor, Departments of Immunology and Surgery

The University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine

Thomas Gajewski, MD, PhD

Professor, Ben May Department for Cancer
Research & Department of Pathology
University of Chicago

Peter Jones, PhD, DSc

Chief Scientific Officer
Van Andel Institute

Michelle Le Beau, PhD

Arthur and Marian Edelstein Professor of Medicine
Director, University of Chicago Comprehensive Cancer Center

Electra D. Paskett, PhD

Marion N. Rowley Professor of Cancer Research Medicine/Cancer Prevention and Control

Ohio State University CCC

Susan Rhoades

Patient Advocate

Michael Kastan, MD, PhD

Executive Director, Duke Cancer Institute

William and Jane Shingleton Professor, Pharmacology and Cancer Biology

Professor of Pediatrics, Duke University School of Medicine

Erle S. Robertson, PhD

Harry P. Schenck Professor in Otorhinolaryngology
University of Pennsylvania
Perelman School of Medicine

Yolanda Sanchez, PhD

Professor of Molecular and Systems Biology
Associate Director for Basic Sciences
Norris Cotton Cancer Center
The Audrey and Theodor Geisel School of
Medicine at Dartmouth

Brian C. Springer, MHA

Vice President, Research Administration
Associate Center Director, Administration
Moffitt Cancer Center & Research Institute